Gratitude

For the stormchaser. 

For so long, the only words I could form were words of regret—

“You should have lived, 

long and happy and well.”

It’s true.

You should have.

You should not have left us the way you did,

so young and so full of life.

You should not have left us at all.

But you did.

And today, I look again at that last conversation, at the pictures

of your very last trip.

And today, I am grateful.

I am so grateful.

I am so grateful that your eyes saw so many beautiful things,

so grateful that your hands created the things they loved,

so grateful that your heart loved the way it did.

I am so grateful for the storms you chased,

for the songs you danced to;

and oh, dear one, I am so grateful

for each fleeting beat of your precious, precious heart.

One thought on “Gratitude

  1. ❤ This is sad and beautiful at the same time. I loved that you wove the gratitude of the life into it. Beautiful. I am sad for you to have to have gone through something like that recently. ❤ Well written, dear friend. ~
    How have you been?
    Lovingly,
    Kaitlyn~

Leave a Reply

