In which I make snow cones… with my car

Today may have been one of the longest days of my life…

I a) got 4 hours of sleep, b) wrote two papers in one hour, c) found out that my top college choice won’t accept any of the PSEO credits I’m taking. Then d) on the way home from school, a combination of my poor driving skills, distraction, and a locked steering wheel got my car stuck in a snow pile. A freaking snow pile. And to top it all of, my phone died and I couldn’t call anyone to help.

So, not one of my better days.

About a dozen cars drove by and watched me trying to dig out my wheels without a shovel, and stared like I was a freak show (okay, it did look kind of funny; a gigantic brown Buick perched on a snow bank- it doesn’t really get any more ridiculous).

Eventually, though, one family stopped; a young couple with their little girl in one car, and his mom in the car behind him. I can’t express how grateful I am to theseΒ  people- and how unworthy I feel of their help.

In fact, they were people I would have been a little intimidated around if I met them under different circumstances. The man and his wife/girlfriend both sported lip rings and skull tats, and his mom was tough-looking woman in a Harley-Davidson jacket.

And, despite my stereotypes, they were quite possibly the kindest people I have ever met.

The younger woman hooked up my car to her jeep, the man cleared out the front of my car and his mom gave me a big hug, told me it was all going to be okay, this happens to all of us, and they would get me out of this.

I kept trying to (uselessly) help, and she just gently pulled me back and said, “Honey, you’re still shaking. You just stand here with me. My son can figure it out.”

And they did- they towed my car out, helped me pickup the remains of the front grill (protector? thingy? something plastic-y in the front of my car that’s supposed to protect the engine from bugs?) and made sure I was safe and sound.

I wish I had the sense to catch their names, and most of all I wish I could do something to show my gratitude.

Instead, I went home, and started bawling the minute I got inside the house. My mom, who, as it turns out, has quite a bit in common with my sweet Harley-Davidson lady, just put an arm around me and let me cry for a bit. When I had stopped shaking, she told me, “Well, we’ll just tell Dad that you were… umm… making snow cones… with the car.”

A rough day?

Absolutely.

But it wasn’t until later that I realized it had also been pretty incredible.

Incredible, because when I really see love, it is in so many places; whether it’s on snow piles or at my mom’s kitchen table or on a cross.

Incredible, because this is the story of my life. Rescue- undeserved rescue- in unexpected places, over and over and over again.

2 thoughts on “In which I make snow cones… with my car

  1. Oh dear….I wonder how your dad reacted to the explaination of making snow cones with the car…:) Glad you were okay through it! Rough days are so interesting, aren’t they?! Just think of all the lessons God can teach us through them if we are willing to listen. πŸ™‚ In your case….the beautiful reminder of how the Lord has saved us!

    And the people that stopped to help you….the Lord may have brought them there to help you so they could see Jesus’s light in you. Strange and sad that so many others just passed you by! 😦 Reminds me of a story in the New Testament. πŸ™‚ That is strange….here in Missouri you can hardly stay on the side of the road without someone pulling over and helping you. Or at least driving really slow past with the window rolled down, shouting, “Ya okay? Need help?”. Sigh, well, you just really need to come to Missouri you know. πŸ™‚

    There are people out there that need to hear the gospel…don’t pass up the opportunities! Love you girl! Have a victorious day and strive to glorify God in everything you do, say, and think!
    Kaitlyn~

  2. And hey, look at the blessings in disguise!
    1.You could have just gotten 2 hours of sleep. πŸ™‚
    2.The two papers you had to write in an hour could have been on the science of 6th dimensions.
    3.You might find a better college or option that would be WAY better.
    4.And last but not least, you could have been in a deadly wreck just up ahead if you hadn’t been stuck in a snow pile, but God lovingly landed you in a pile of snow instead. πŸ™‚

    Count your blessings! πŸ™‚

    Love you Mary! You are such a joy!

Leave a Reply

