She Changed My Story

Vivin Olivia.

My princess.

The child who gives me hope.

As many of you know, Vivin is my little girl from Indonesia. I have the incredible privilege of sponsoring her through Compassion International since July of last year, and she has just brought me so much joy.

I pay $38 a month, and it provides Vivin with access to education, medical care, and basic needs like getting enough to eat and drink. As a child born to poverty, she wouldn’t have had many options without Compassion. With my sponsorship, she can choose her own story. I’ve changed her story.

And in ways I would never have dreamed, she is changing mine. I’ve gotten three letters from her so far, and each one has brought me to tears. She is just a sweetheart. In her latest letter, she told me I was beautiful and she was so glad to know me. She asked how she could pray for me, and then thanked me for the Christmas gift I sent her. With it, she said, she received books, pencils, and crayons- and she used the crayons to color a picture for me! Which, by the way, is probably my most treasured possession.

She closed by asking that I “pray for my studies so that I may learn to read you letters.”

Um, how precious is that?

Vivin is my treasure. She is the best choice I’ve ever made, and she is changing my story just as much as I am changing hers.

You can be part of this, too- you can release a child from poverty and have that same sweet relationship that Vivin and I are developing.

Start here and consider sponsoring another girl from Vivin’s country: Anggi, age 11.

You can be the change that releases Anggi from poverty. And she, in turn, will be a change you could never have imagined in your life.

http://my.compassionsunday.com/vivinandsaul

4 thoughts on “She Changed My Story

  1. How wonderful, Mary! Thank you for loving little Vivin like Jesus would. You can bring so much light into her world! Guess what?! We are going to Lordwilling sponsor a child through Gospel For Asia! 🙂 I will let you know the details when I find them out. 🙂 Love you….thank you for sharing this! Isn’t it amazing the encouragement that a child can give to us?! Just reminds me of when it says in the Bible, “Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast Thou ordained strength.”

    Love ya!
    Kaitlyn~

    1. Yay!!!! I’m so excited for you! Sponsorship is an amazing experience.(: Tell me about him/her when you choose a child! Do you get to write letters to your child? That is really fun.(:

      1. I am really excited too! This is something that I have wanted to do for a long time. 🙂 Yes, I do believe we get to write letters. I will be sure to tell you all the details! :):):)

Leave a Reply

