Dream

by m. e. roach

 

I dreamed a dream,

once, long ago,

safe inside the womb of my naivete.

I dreamed of who I could be

and of success-

but what am I lately?

I dreamed this dream,

of laughter and perfection,

idealism that dies.

I dreamed of “someday,”

escape, and beauty, too-

who might I become in “someday?”

And now I wake, and toss and turn, and slowly see

that someday never comes-

and when it comes, it passes me.

 

 

based on “Dream,” from the musical Les Miserables

 

Leave a Reply

